A month has come and gone without so much as a peep from me. Life has been busy, and that’s a good thing. But I slowed down and asked ShirtlessRoland out on a post-dinner date tonight. After the kids were educated, bathed, read to and tucked in, I left TallGirl in charge and sneaked out to meet him at Mellow Mushroom for trivia night.

Among the nuggets I can add to the list of things I learned by guessing, you may be surprised to hear that Luke Skywalker of 2LiveCrew is running for mayor of Miami. Good luck to him. This news brought back fond memories of 1989 and riding around in a golf cart with Q-tip somewhere in the general vicinity of Myrtle Beach.

Among the Answers We Knew Were Wrong But Wrote Them Down Anyway were bits like Wyatt Earp was a marshal in Oklahoma. Ronald Reagan was born in Missouri. Maverick’s dad’s name was Mr. Mitchell (technically correct). And who knew Tubb’s first name was Ricardo? I never even saw that show anyway.

Had ‘Songs Billy Joel Had Nothing To Do With’ been a category, we would have swept it, as I recently learned Two Tickets To Paradise was actually recorded by Eddie Money. Now I know. Instead, with a handful of anally derived answers, we came in 2 points behind the first place winners. But with a $20 gift card, 4 beer glasses and a small, long sleeved T-shirt, I’m pretty sure we raked in more loot. However, that may have had more to do with our conversation with the bartender. He was from Pennsylvania and ended up in Wake Forest by way of Las Vegas. Now I don’t know if you’ve ever been to these two cities but let me tell you, direct entry from one to the other should not be allowed. I imagine he suffered something akin to the bends that SCUBA divers get from surfacing too quickly.

Wake Forest, you see, is not a drinking town. This makes the opening of the new Waffle House down the street a little curious, but anywho. Wake Forest is the home of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary and is inhabited by people whom you would not be alone in at first mistaking for Temple of the Dogs fans. But sadly, no. They are simply emulating our Lord Jesus Christ and Personal Savior and if you sit next to them one too many times in Starbucks, they will mistake this as an invitation to point out why the things in your life (including a surprising list of items that can be found in your pantry) will send you to Hell. Mr. Bartender was not adequately warned.

But he was generously tipped and I hope to see him and the small crowd again next Thursday.

